Yeah. About those books. You see, it’s like this…

by rsbakker

Aphorism of the Day: Persuasion is the art of convincing people that you had simply duped them into disagreeing with you in the first place.

Thanks for all the encouragement, guys. I’m going to press onward with the blog and see if I can’t have it both ways. Why not, when its been the story of my life this far? I still have a host of concerns, the amount of time and concentration required among them.

So, the final draft of The White-Luck Warrior is now officially ‘in press,’ as they say. All I have left to do is complete the maps. Always alot of fun, inking the maps! I have to admit, I’m more than a little disconcerted how The White-Luck Warrior, which is still several months from release, is already outselling Disciple of the Dog on both the Canadian and the UK Amazons. One of the perils of writing across genre lines is that most of your readers simply will not follow you. A lesson I learned at Neuropath‘s knee, unfortunately.

I’m also dismayed by the utter absence of any reviews, online or otherwise.  Granted, this will likely change once the book is released in the US this November… but still, troubling. I’m especially eager to see what kind of responses Disciple gets simply because I think it’s far and away the most accessible of the books I’ve written, and so the best one to recommend to the uninitiated. Even if it does fizzle, I have enough confidence that The White-Luck Warrior will pull through. A midlist author is basically a small businessman who manufactures only one product a year: if that product fails, the business fails, as simple as that. The great thing about writing a series, I’ve come to realize, is the way they stand or fall together. The Darkness that Comes Before was–against all reason, I now think–an unqualified success. As slender a foundation as it is, it has proven remarkably robust as a backlist title.

The White-Luck Warrior is still too close to be much more than a bolus of conflicting associations in the back of my brain, but I do think it makes the stakes of the greater series clear, and those stakes are cool. With White-Luck, I’m guessing–hoping–The Aspect-Emperor can claim a gravitas equal to The Prince of Nothing. People will see the scale of what I’m attempting, and will follow if only to see whether I manage to save or wreck the runaway epic train!

This strikes me as a good frame of mind with which to plunge into the writing of The Unholy Consult. I already have around 20,000 words strung out across eleven chapters, and the scenes and the storyline are burning bright enough in my unconscious for me to think I could finish the first draft within around eight months or so–which should give my publishers plenty of time to publish in Spring 2012–hopefully before the world turns into another horrible Emmerich movie.

Still, even if White-Luck manages to meet or even exceed my expectations, the overall series will never rise above the cult status it presently enjoys. Just too damn dense, too damn difficult. If any of my works possess breakout potential, Disciple of the Dog is the one. So here’s hoping for some kind of mainstream boost…

I already have the next two Disciple Manning novels plotted out in my head. That guy owns me in a way no character has in a long time.

There. I actually managed to talk at length about my books. It kind of feels like bullshit, in retrospect, but then so does pretty much everything I write! I was the kid in grade four who railed on and on about how ‘Santa,’ so-called, was simply an adult conspiracy, one meant to shield parents from taking responsibility for their crappy gifts. Was it simply a coincidence that Santa seemed to like all the rich kids so much better than us poor bastards?

I think not. That, my friends, would be God.