Because Three Pounds Doesn’t Cut It

by rsbakker

Aphorism of the Day: Without madness, sanity would be a whole lot more interesting.

So this is how it is. I have this perverse, self-destructive bent that prevents me from pimping my books the way that I should, or at least the way that other authors seem to do so effectively. Add to this a penchant for monomania and a general inability to organize my life, and what you have is an author who just ain’t any good at selling himself, let alone his books. Just look at this bloody blog: all the papers I never send out to publish, all the crackpot concepts I cook up only to throw away or sock in the fridge. Three Pound Brain literally shouts agenda, wank and pessimism – things that are almost certain to make most prospective readers run for cover. And to make matters worse, I pick fights with crazies who then devote their energies to smearing my already tarnished name…

And I fucking love it. I wouldn’t have it any other way because I can’t have it any other way.

But it is, I think, something I need to apologize for. The sad fact is, I would likely be quite a bit more successful if it weren’t for my suite of character flaws. I would be further along in the series – that’s for sure. Who knows, I might even be able to hire someone to compensate for all my weaknesses, a sock-puppet pimp or something like that. But as it stands, I don’t have a pot to piss in…

Just a small legion of too-forgiving fans.

Many of whom, I suspect, will be glad to learn that Madness has opened a real, honest-to-goodness forum to discuss the books, as well as other things secondarily apocalyptic. I’m trying to think of a way to give it some real publicity… Maybe a sample from the first chapter of The Unholy Consult? A naked photo or two? Or a love poem?