Updates…

by rsbakker

Regarding the vanishing American e-books, my agent tells me that Overlook has recently switched distributors, and that the kerfuffle will be sorted out shortly. If you decide to pass this along, please take the opportunity to shame those who illegally download. I’m hanging on by my fingernails, here, and yet the majority of hits I get whenever I do my weekly vanity Google are for links to illegal downloads of my books. I increasingly meet fools who seem to think they’re ‘sticking it to the man’ by illegally downloading, when in fact, what they’re doing is driving commercially borderline artists–that is, those artists dedicated to sticking it to the man–to the food bank.

As for pub dates, still no word from either Overlook (who will also be handling the Canadian edition) or Orbit. Sorry guys.

Also, I’ll be in Denmark to give a seminar entitled, “Writing After the Death of Meaning,” for the Posthuman Aesthetics Research Group (a seriously cool handle!) at Aarhus University on the thirteenth of this month. I realized writing this that I had simply assumed it wasn’t open to the public, but when I reviewed my correspondence, I couldn’t discover any reason for assuming this short its billing as a ‘seminar.’ I’ve emailed my host asking for clarification, just in case any of you happen to be twiddling your thumbs in Denmark next Wednesday.